Navigate Up
Sign In
Home | Contact A | A

 Awards & Medals

Skip Navigation LinksGrenfell Campus / Division of Arts / Classics / Awards & Medals

The Pausanias Award in Classics for Study Abroad (valued at approximately $600) is named for the second century CE traveler and geographer. This scholarship is awarded to students at Grenfell Campus Memorial University who enroll in field study courses in the culture, history and/or civilization of ancient Greece or Rome. Such field study courses are generally offered in the spring of each year by the University of New Brunswick (go to Links). Students enrolling in such courses can gain credit here at Grenfell Campus. This scholarship was be awarded for the first time in the winter semester 2008.

Recipiants of the Pausanias Award

2010    Brad Evoy for travel to Greece
2009    Lindsay Morey for travel to Rome
2008    Josh Tavenor for travel to Rome

The Classics Merit Award. This book prize is awarded annually to a student who has declared a minor concentration in classics and has outstanding performance in classics courses at Grenfell Campus Memorial University.

Recipiants of the Classics Merit Award

2012    Kelsey Collier
2011    Stephen Collins
2010    Carolynne Gabriel
2009    Carolynne Gabriel

The May Parker Memorial Scholarship in Classics (valued at approximately $400.00) was awarded each spring to a full-time student at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College who showed outstanding interest and excellence in the study of Classics. This scholarship has now been discontinued. The record of those deserving students who were awarded this scholarship is found below.

Recipients of the
May Parker Memorial Scholarship in Classics


1989   Paul Pinsent
1990   Charlene Kavanagh
           Christa Brothers
1991   Anthony Gosse 1992    No Award Granted
1993   Kenneth Matthews
           John Noseworthy
1994    John Boland
            Contessa Small
1995   Wendy Fewer
           Cathy Trask
           Suzanne Wells
1996    Wayne Joyce

1997   Miranda Fong
           Valerie Simms
1998    Greg Ivany
            Laura Petherick
            Neil White
1999   Karen Ollerhead
2000    Heather Bartlett
            Jason Hutchings
2001   Joanne Morgan
2002    Adriana Bennett
            Stacey Milley
2003   Cassandra Buckle
           Pamela Humphries
2004    Brad Snow
2005   Kelly Gallant
           Amanda Parsons
2006  Rachel Bishop
           Steve Walsh
2007  Sean Burton
          Joshua Tavenor
          Shawna Warmington


street address:

Grenfell Campus
Memorial University

20 University Drive
Corner Brook, NL
A2H 5G4

mailing address:

Grenfell Campus
Memorial University

PO Box 2000
Corner Brook, NL
A2H 6P9

email addresses:

For questions about the university:

For questions about the website:

For technical support questions:


Switchboard: 1-709-637-6200

Student Recruitment: 1-888-637-6269

Registrar: 1-866-381-7022